News / Press Releases – Results of the 2021 Biennial National Congress


September 18, 2021

Los Angeles – Director Lesli Linka Glatter was elected President of the Directors Guild of America by acclamation by delegates at the Biennial National Guild Convention held today at the DGA National Headquarters in Los Angeles.

Glatter has a long history of Guild service. She has served on the Guild’s National Board of Directors since 2003, most recently as First Vice-President and before that as Fifth Vice-President. She was a member of three bargaining committees, the most recent of which achieved another leap in SVOD residue as well as gains in wages, pension contributions and television creative rights. His service as a member or alternate of the Western Directors Council, member of the Creative Rights Committee and within the PAC Board of Directors spans two decades. Glatter joined the DGA in 1985.

In addition, 160 delegates representing more than 18,000 members of the DGA elected a new roster of officers and members of the National Board of Directors.

“I am honored to have been chosen by my peers to serve as President, and I am committed to continuing our Guild’s great legacy of protecting the economic and creative rights of our members, always with an eye on the world. ‘future’ said Glatter. “And nothing gives me more hope for our future than looking around at this great, deeply creative and incredibly diverse board representing the future of this industry. I am blown away by their generosity of spirit and their dedication to serving their colleagues, even though they juggle such demanding and successful careers. In these times of great technological and cultural change, we are ready to meet the challenges that lie ahead. And just like we have done throughout our 85 year history, together we will win. ”

“It has been a tremendous privilege to serve as President over the past four years. And I am equally proud and delighted to hand over the baton to the extraordinarily capable hands of Lesli, ”said the outgoing president. Thomas schlamme. “Lesli is a powerful force in the industry, and she has brought the same energy to the service that she has devoted to our Guild over the past two decades by fighting for the rights of our members. It is so uniquely positioned to lead us into the future.

“The reason the DGA works so well is that it is run by active members. Despite a demanding career at the top of her game, Lesli’s commitment to this guild has never wavered – she always shows up, ”said Paris Barclay.

Lesli Linka Glatter is a director of premium cable films, networks and TV series, with pilots and episodes to her credit. Lesli’s television work includes The Morning Show, Homeland, The Newsroom, The Walking Dead, Justified, Ray Donovan, Masters of Sex, True Blood, Mad Men, The Leftovers, The Good Wife, The West Wing, NYPD Blue, ER, Freaks and Geeks and Twin peaks. Lesli has also led many pilots including Gilmore Girls, Pretty Little Liars and SIX. His films include From time to time, the proposal and for HBO, Emergency state. She is currently attached to direct the adaptation of the feature film by Ashley’s war for universal images.

Lesli has been a production manager for 20 years and most recently was executive producer / director of the award-winning series Country. She began her directorial career through the American Film Institute’s Directing Workshop for Women, in which her film Tales of meeting and separation was nominated for an Oscar. Lesli was nominated for 8 Directors Guild of America (“DGA”) Awards, most recently winning her third DGA Award for Achieving the Country series finale, having won twice previously for Mad Men and Country. Lesli received 8 Emmy nominations and was nominated for a Humanitas Award for HBO Emergency state. Lesli is currently developing projects for Netflix, Amazon, Apple, Epix and HBO.

Lesli recently signed a first look with Universal Television and formed Backyard Pictures with her production partner, Cheryl Bloch. She is currently a director and executive producer Love and death written by David E. Kelley and starring Elizabeth Olsen for HBO Max.

In addition to her work at the DGA, Lesli sits on the executive committee of the directorate general of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. She is also a consultant at the Director’s Lab at the Sundance Institute. She has been involved in mentoring for many years, including for the DGA Director Development Initiative – and most recently she helped develop the successful NBC program, Female Forward.

Lesli received the Caucus Foundation Award, the Dorothy Arzner Directoring Award from Women in Film, and the Franklin Schaffner Award from the American Film Institute, as well as an honorary degree from the American Film Institute.

Prior to her work as a director, Lesli was a modern dance choreographer who worked in Europe, Asia and the United States.

The following officers were elected to serve alongside Glatter: Mary Rae Thewlis was re-elected National Vice President; Paris Barclay, former president of the DGA, was elected secretary-treasurer.

First Vice-President Betty Thomas was also elected; second vice-president Ron Howard; third vice president Barry Jenkins; Fourth Vice-President Seith Mann; Fifth Vice-President Ava DuVernay; sixth vice-president Lily Olszewski; and Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Joyce Thomas.

Complete list of DGA 2021-2023 leaders and members of the national board of directors

  • President – Lesli Linka Glatter
  • National Vice President – Mary Rae Thewlis
  • Secretary-Treasurer – Paris Barclay
  • Assistant Secretary-Treasurer – Joyce Thomas
  • Senior Vice President – Betty Thomas
  • Second Vice-President – Ron Howard
  • Third Vice President – Barry Jenkins
  • Fourth Vice President – Seith Mann
  • Fifth Vice-President – Ava DuVernay
  • Sixth Vice-President – Lily Olszewski

Board members

  • Jon avnet
  • Norberto Barba
  • Karen gaviola
  • Julie gelfand
  • Duncan henderson
  • Todd Holland
  • Nicole kassell
  • Kathleen McGill
  • Christophe nolan
  • Millicent Shelton
  • Steven spielberg

Alternate Council Members

  • Kabir Akhtar
  • Marie Lou Belli
  • Laura Belsey
  • Hanelle Culpepper
  • Nora Gerard
  • Michel Goi
  • Maggie Greenwald
  • Anthony hemingway
  • Michael mann
  • Annetta marion
  • Don Mischer
  • Jonathan mostow
  • Edouard Ornélas
  • Kimberly peirce
  • Matthew Penn
  • Bethany Rooney
  • Oz scott

Associate members of the board of directors

  • Scott Berger
  • Valdez Flagg
  • Courtney franklin
  • Louis J. Guerra
  • Shawn Pipkin-West

Second alternate board member

  • Lee blaine
  • Mimi Deaton
  • Kevin Koster
  • Dennis W. Mazzocco
  • Thomas whelan
  • Canella Williams-Larrabee


Previous The last time the NBC hit comedy won an Emmy
Next Scary Movie Mondays returns to Starlite Drive-in

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.